SoundChart nr. 3: Cold Atoms

Source articles here & here.
SoundChart nr. 3: Cold Atoms
Gruppe Jörg Schmiedmayer (ATI, TU Wien)


About the composer:
Nickos Harizanos was born in Athens. He studied Composition, Orchestration, Harmony and Counterpoint in Athens under the supervision of Professors Christos Lambrianidis and Spiros Klapsis from 1992 to 1999. He then continued his studies in Composition at Manchester University (2000-2001) with Professor John Casken and Professor Geoffrey Poole, graduating with a research Master’s degree (MMus) in Composition. In 2014 he will start his studies for PhD in Composition at University of Bangor (U.K.) under the supervision of Professor Andrew Lewis.  

His music has been performed in 31 countries (U.S.A., Canada, Russia, Japan, U.K., Mexico, Korea, Colombia, Argentina, Morroco, Germany, France, the Netherlands, Belgium, Switzerland, Luxemburg, Bulgaria, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Latvia, Poland, Ukraine, Czech Republic, Lithuania, Albania, Hungary, Romania, Serbia, Cyprus, Greece). He has received numerous of first prizes and distinctions in International and National Composers Competitions. 

His music has been broadcasted by Greek National TV and Radio Stations along with 
International TV stations (Spain) and Radio stations (USA – Portugal – Colombia – Czech Republic, Bulgaria).  He is the General Secretary of Contemporary Music Research Centre (founded by Iannis Xenakis) (KSYME), member of  the Greek Composers Union (GCU) and the Hellenic Electroacoustic Music Composers Association (HELMCA) (Greece).  

His works are published by Schott (Germany), Musica Ferrum (Greece), Da Capo Music Ltd (U.K.), Gold Branch Music Inc. (U.S.A.),  Arcomis (U.K.), Contemporary Music Research Centre (KSYME – CMRC) (Greece).